Marion, Virginia

Town Council

Town Council Members

Mayor | David Helms
dhelms@marionva.org

Vice Mayor | Dr. Jim Gates
jgates@marionva.org

Jim Barker
jbarker@marionva.org

Larry Carter
lcarter@marionva.org

Avery Cornett
acornett@marionva.org

Suzanne Jennings
sjennings@marionva.org

Tricia Spencer
tspencer@marionva.org

Bill Weaver
bweaver@marionva.org

 

The Town of Marion Council is the legislative body of the Marion local government that is responsible for adopting all ordinances and resolutions, approving the annual operating and capital budgets, setting all tax rates, approving the five year Capital Improvement Program, setting all user fees, making land use and zoning decisions, and establishing long range plans and policies.

The Council appoints a Town Manager to act as administrative head of the Town. He serves at the pleasure of Council, carries out policies, directs business procedures, and has the power of appointment and removal of all Town employees except the Town Attorney and the Town Clerk, who are also appointed by the Council. Duties and responsibilities of the Town Manager include preparation, submittal, and administration of the capital and operating budgets; advising the Council on the affairs of the Town; handling citizens' complaints; maintenance of all personnel records; enforcement of the Town Charter and laws of the Town; and direction and supervision of all departments.

The Council, in its legislative role, adopts all ordinance and resolutions and establishes the general policies of the Town. The Council also sets the real estate tax rate and approves and adopts the annual operating budget.

The Town Council meets in regular session the 1st and 3rd Mondays of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Municipal Building, 138 West Main St. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend meetings.


2020 Agendas & Minutes

June 15, 2020 View Agenda
June 1, 2020 View Agenda View Minutes
May 18, 2020 View Agenda View Minutes
April 20,2020 View Agenda View Minutes
March 16, 2020 View Agenda View Minutes
March 2, 2020 View Agenda View Minutes
February 18, 2020 View Agenda View Minutes
February 3, 2020 View Agenda View Minutes
January 21, 2020 View Agenda View Minutes
January 6, 2020 View Agenda View Minutes