Marion, Virginia

Town Council

Town Council Members:

Mayor David Helms

Vice Mayor Dr. Jim Gates

Jim Barker

Tricia Spencer

Suzanne Jennings

Larry Carter

Bill Weaver

Avery Cornett



The Town of Marion Council is the legislative body of the Marion local government that is responsible for adopting all ordinances and resolutions, approving the annual operating and capital budgets, setting all tax rates, approving the five year Capital Improvement Program, setting all user fees, making land use and zoning decisions, and establishing long range plans and policies.

The Council appoints a Town Manager to act as administrative head of the Town. He serves at the pleasure of Council, carries out policies, directs business procedures, and has the power of appointment and removal of all Town employees except the Town Attorney and the Town Clerk, who are also appointed by the Council. Duties and responsibilities of the Town Manager include preparation, submittal, and administration of the capital and operating budgets; advising the Council on the affairs of the Town; handling citizens' complaints; maintenance of all personnel records; enforcement of the Town Charter and laws of the Town; and direction and supervision of all departments.

The Council, in its legislative role, adopts all ordinance and resolutions and establishes the general policies of the Town. The Council also sets the real estate tax rate and approves and adopts the annual operating budget.

The Town Council meets in regular session the 1st and 3rd Mondays of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Municipal Building, 138 West Main St. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend meetings.

2019 Agendas & Minutes

March 4, 2018 View Agenda View Minutes
February 19, 2019 View Agenda
February 4, 2019 View Agenda
January 22, 2019 View Agenda
January 7, 2019 View Agenda